Skip to product information
1 of 2

Kishi Bashi - 151a (10th Anniversary Edition) - Clear Color Vinyl Record 2LP

Kishi Bashi - 151a (10th Anniversary Edition) - Clear Color Vinyl Record 2LP

Regular price $ 28.99 USD
Regular price $ 35.99 USD Sale price $ 28.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

They say that you spend your entire life writing your first album, piecing every formative moment, scribbled turn of phrase, and thematic epiphany into a fantastical collage. Multi-instrumentalist K. Ishibashi disproves that old adage. The title of Kishi Bashi's 2011 debut album, 151a, is a riff on the Japanese phrase "ichi-go ichi-e," roughly translating to "one time, one place." That's exactly what this debut is: A singular time, an inimitable place, a launchpad for bigger and better things to come. It's a play on words that translates as a performance aesthetic of having a unique performance in time, with imperfections, and enjoying it while you can," Ishibashi told NPR at the time of the album's release. "The saying reminds me to embrace my mistakes and move forward."

Produced and performed exclusively by Kishi Bashi, 151a is a showcase of singular talent and ambition – and it didn't go unnoticed by fans or peers. Along with launching Kishi Bashi's career as a soloist, this earnest debut made him one of indie music's most in-demand violinists. He was no longer relegated to side stage as a collaborator of Regina Spektor, Sondre Lerche, of Montreal, and more – the Kishi Bashi name could endure with its own merit. As deeply personal as 151a undoubtedly is, the record was animated by a deep and enduring partnership. Following Kishi Bashi's collaboration with of Montreal's Kevin Barnes for the watershed art-pop album Paralytic Stalks, his worldview and artistic approach was transformed for the better. Strict habits hung loose, sonic palettes bled and broadened, and a one-man orchestra sprouted from a foundation of string loops.

From the deconstructed Beach Boys-esque doo-wop of "Wonder Woman" to the menacing marriage of Eastern Hues and Western operatics of "Beat the Bright out of Me," 151a is a mediation between opposing drives, offering possible reconciliation but never promising it. The album's emotional wellspring, "I Am The Antichrist To You" was reimagined in 2021 when it was featured on the animated sci-fi sitcom Rick and Morty, introducing Kishi Bashi to a new generation of awestruck fans. Kishi Bashi also uses 151a as a vehicle to explore his cultural background. Using Japanese refrains as a compositional and textural device (the polyrhythmic grandeur of "Bright Whites"; the gleeful surrealism of "It All Began With a Burst"), Kishi Bashi celebrates his heritage with earnestness. Japanese phrases and couplets are sung as the response to Kishi Bashi's resplendent calls, offering listeners a conversation that dovetails with the album's themes of love, sentimentality, and self-discovery.

Today, the "one time" and "one place" that 151a inhabited seems further than ever, almost broaching celestial realms of time and space. But, rest assured, with each listen, the world that Kishi Bashi built springs back to life. The world of 151a never left – it was just waiting to be rediscovered. This 10th anniversary edition is pressed on colored vinyl 2LP and includes the album proper plus demos of each song and era rarities. Packaged in a gatefold jacket within a (reversible art) slipcase featuring new takes on the cover art by illustrators Hsiao-Ron Cheng and John Lee. Expanded liner notes by Kishi Bashi.

LP1 - Original Album

  1. Intro / Pathos, Pathos
  2. Manchester
  3. Bright Whites
  4. It All Began With a Burst
  5. Wonder Woman, Wonder Me
  6. Chester's Burst Over the Hamptons
  7. Atticus, In the Desert
  8. I Am the Antichrist to You
  9. Beat the Bright Out of Me

LP2 - Demi-arigato Version

  1. Intro / Pathos, Pathos
  2. Manchester
  3. Bright Whites
  4. It All Began With a Burst
  5. Wonder Woman, Wonder Me
  6. Unicorns Die When You Leave *
  7. Chester's Burst Over the Hamptons
  8. Atticus, In the Desert
  9. I Am the Antichrist to You
  10. Beat the Bright Out of Me
  11. Winter from Shiki *

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

One of the the best vinyl record albums by Kishi Bashi - 151a (10th Anniversary Edition) - Clear Color Vinyl Record 2LP

Voted Best Online Record Store 2022

View full details