Skip to product information
1 of 1


Guided By Voices - Under The Bushes Under The Stars (Vinyl Record 2LP)

Guided By Voices - Under The Bushes Under The Stars (Vinyl Record 2LP)

Regular price $ 27.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 27.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pestered by complaints that they were wasting perfect hooks by not bothering to finish them, lo-fi pop avatars Guided By Voices set out to prove they could make a proper pop album if they really wanted to. Then they ditched it like just another melody line in Robert Pollard's overly fertile head. On the way to releasing this, their ninth album, the band tossed out most of a set of songs recorded with uber-producer Steve Albini and with Kim Deal of the Breeders, and replaced them with some random pop matter written and recorded on the fly after they were supposed to be done.

Lo-fi and whimsical they remain, but much of the original pop ambition for 1996's Under The Bushes Under The Stars can be heard on the final product; it's easily the band's most accessible album. Verses and choruses repeat up to three times, songs clock in over three minutes, and someone plays a piano; by GBV standards, this is perfectly baroque. But among the rush of power-pop hooks and new-wave touches, there is also an anti-pop undercurrent.

The gorgeous acoustic tone of "Acorns & Orioles," for example, is invaded by a howling noise that continues, unabated, through the next two tracks as well. What remains in the end, in the power-pop drive of "Your Name Is Wild" and the skittering guitar wallop of "Man Called Aerodynamics," is the one thing Guided By Voices couldn't ditch if they wanted to: hooks galore.

Under The Bushes Under The Stars is the last Guided By Voices album with the original classic lineup of Pollard/Sprout/Mitchell/Fennell until the 2012 reunion album Let's Go Eat the Factory. Features the singles "The Official Ironman Rally Song," "Cut-Out Witch" and "Your Name Is Wild," along with fan favorites "Don't Stop Now," "To Remake The Young Flyer" and "Drag Days."


  1. Man Called Aerodynamics
  2. Rhine Jive Click
  3. Cut-Out Witch
  4. Burning Flag Birthday Suit
  5. Official Ironmen Rally Song, The
  6. To Remake The Young Flyer
  7. No Sky
  8. Bright Paper Werewolves
  9. Lord Of Overstock
  10. Your Name Is Wild
  11. Ghosts Of A Different Dream
  12. Acorns & Orioles
  13. Look At Them
  14. The Perfect Life
  15. Underwater Explosions
  16. Atom Eyes
  17. Don't Stop Now
  18. Office Of Hearts


  1. Big Boring Wedding
  2. It's Like Soul Man
  3. Drag Days
  4. Sheetkickers
  5. Redmen And Their Wives
  6. Take To The Sky

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details