Speedy Ortiz- Foil Deer Vinyl Record  (1247850435)

Speedy Ortiz- Foil Deer Vinyl Record

  • $ 16.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 left!

When considering Massachusetts’ Speedy Ortiz, that line from Virginia Woolf comes to mind. Not only for the obvious echoes to DIY, a form and function that's characterized the band's nascency, but in the proto-feminist undertones driving much of their sophomore album, Foil Deer. “I'm not bossy, I'm the boss,” Sadie Dupuis sings on “Raising the Skate,” invoking in spirit one half of the Carter-Knowles clan and echoing the other's wordplay. And wordplay makes sense, considering Dupuis—the band’s songwriter, guitarist, and frontwoman—spent the band's first few years teaching writing at UMass Amherst. She's drawn to the dense complexity of Pynchon, the dreamlike geometry of Bolaño, the confounded yearning of Plath—all attributes you could easily apply to the band's 2013 debut Major Arcana, which fans and press alike have invested with a sense of purpose and merit uncommon in contemporary guitar rock.

Track Listings
 1. Good Neck 
 2. Raising the Skate 
 3. The Graduates 
 4. Dot X 
 5. Homonovus 
 6. Puffer 
 7. Swell Content 
 8. Zig 
 9. My Dead Girl 
 10. Ginger 
 11. Mister Difficult 
 12. Dvrk Wvrld