Skip to product information
1 of 1

All Media

Matthew Sweet - Girlfriend: Expanded Edition (180g Vinyl 2LP)

Matthew Sweet - Girlfriend: Expanded Edition (180g Vinyl 2LP)

Regular price $ 49.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 49.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Artist-Approved 180g 2LP Expanded Edition with 6 Bonus Tracks

100% Analog Mastered from the Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound

Intervention Records and Matthew Sweet are proud to introduce the new Artist-Approved reissue series, Matthew Sweet 1991-1995! In 2018 Intervention is releasing 2LP Expanded Editions of Sweet's 90's power-pop trilogy, Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun, plus the Son of Altered Beast 7-song EP, which is appearing on vinyl for the very first time. Each Expanded Edition is loaded with bonus tracks that are either appearing on vinyl for the very first time or seeing their official release for the very first time. And for Sweet completists, these LPs are the most extensive collection of extra tracks compiled and packaged with the studio albums the songs were recorded for!

All four LPs are 100% analog mastered from the original analog master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The ultra-quiet 180g LPs are pressed at boutique press, RTI in Camarillo, CA. The jacket art for the reissues have been faithfully restored by IR's art director Tom Vadakan. The Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun Expanded Editions will also be released as hybrid CD/SACDs. These discs play in all CD and SACD players and are mastered from the original analog master tapes Direct-to-DSD and will feature very analog-like sound. They will be housed in super jewel boxes.

This is the vinyl release Sweet's 1991 power-pop tour-de-force has always deserved! The original Girlfriend release was a single LP that simply excised the last three songs included on the 15-track CD version. The elegiac track "Nothing Lasts" was even considered as the title track. Intervention's 2LP Expanded Edition restores the original 15-song repertoire to three vinyl sides for maximum bass and dynamics. Side D includes three demo tracks - "Good Friend," "Superdeformed" and "Teenage Female." Girlfriend's album art is printed as a gorgeous "Old Style" gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It's printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels were printed by Dorado.

Mastering Notes:
15 of the 18 tracks on this 2LP Expanded Edition are 100% analog mastered from the original master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The last three tracks are Sweet's own demo recordings made to DAT and therefore cut from digital files from the DAT masters.

• Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
• 100% analog mastering from the original master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
• 6 bonus tracks not included on original release
• Ultra-quiet 180-gram vinyl pressed at RTI
• Beautifully restored "Old Style" gatefold jacket printed by Stoughton

1. Divine Intervention
2. I've Been Waiting
3. Girlfriend
4. Looking At The Sun
5. Winona
6. Evangeline
7. Day For Night
8. Thought I Knew You
9. You Don't Love Me
10. I Wanted To Tell You

1. Don't Go
2. Your Sweet Voice
3. Does She Talk? (bonus track)
4. Holy War (bonus track)
5. Nothing Lasts (bonus track)
6. Good Friend (demo) (bonus track)
7. Superdeformed (demo) (bonus track)
8. Teenage Female (demo) (bonus track)

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details