Skip to product information
1 of 1


Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle Vinyl Record

Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle Vinyl Record

Regular price $ 22.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 22.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Laura Marling’s new album, Once I Was An Eagle, was recorded in the English country studio of long-time producer and instrumentalist Ethan Johns (Kings of Leon, Ryan Adams) and features Marling’s lifelong friend Ruth de Turberville on cello. Not only was the process complete in just ten days, but Marling’s vocals and acoustic guitars were recorded live in one take - in one day. 

To that acoustic skeleton - which will be the sound of her upcoming solo tour, her first sans band - Marling and Johns then added textured layers of percussion and instrumentation. It’s a hugely ambitious record that echoes the themes of previous album A Creature I Don’t Know.

This is Marling’s fourth album and the precocious and preternaturally talented British singer-songwriter has attained what sounds undeniably like vocal, emotional, and artistic maturity. It’s a record for the ages. Released at the age of twenty-three. Her already impressive career has so far included a 2011 Brit Award (UK Grammy-equivalent) for Best British Female Solo Artist, two Mercury Music Prize nominations, and an NME Award for Best Solo Artist.

When Marling began writing the songs that would become Eagle, she’d been “obsessively” collecting records from the year 1969. She was in the middle of a U.S. tour to promote A Creature I Don’t Know. She was about to let go of her band, feeling dislocated on the open road, and searching for what it meant to be an artist and a woman in the world at an age at which her contemporaries were still in college. Eagle is a concept album, sort of. 

It follows a thread of mythology, lyrically and metaphorically. An eagle and a dove, the devil, and the sea populate her cast of characters; soundscapes ebb and flow like an epic plot, or, for that matter, an epic road trip across the States. Deluxe gatefold 180g 2LP-set with 24” x 24” foldout poster and MP3 download card.

“Once I Was An Eagle really does seem to be another astonishingly mature step forward. In 20 years she’ll be celebrated as one of the greats – just be glad you could be here now." - NME

“(Marling) posses a certain kind of ageless poise that makes your jaw drop.” - Pitchfork

Track Listing:

1.  Take The Night Off
2.  I Was An Eagle
3.  You Know
4.  Breathe
5.  Master Hunter
6.  Little Love Caster
7.  Devil’s Resting Place 
8.  Interlude
9.  Undine
10. Where Can I Go? 
11. Once
12. Pray For Me
13. When Were You Happy? (And How Long Has That Been) 
14. Love Be Brave
15. Little Bird
16. Saved These Words

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details