Passer aux informations produits
  • Blitzen Trapper - Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)[2LP Loser Edition Clear and Gold Color Vinyl Record]  (1361290919995)
1 sur 1

Blitzen Trapper - Disque Vinyle Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2LP)

Prix habituel
€19,95 EUR
Prix habituel
Prix soldé
€19,95 EUR

C'est le 23 septembre 2008 que Blitzen Trapper, après avoir sorti trois albums sur son propre label, sort son quatrième album, Furr , via Sub Pop. À cette époque, c'était un disque qui capturait exactement où le leader du groupe, Eric Earley, se trouvait, à la fois littéralement et métaphoriquement, géographiquement et existentiellement. Non pas que le musicien basé à Portland se souvienne réellement de la création des 13 chansons intrigantes et envoûtantes du disque. Ou, plus précisément, ce que signifient réellement ses chansons, maintenant ou alors. Au lieu de cela, Furr , se présente comme une sorte d'hommage et d'élégie à la ville qui l'a inspiré, mais qui, une décennie plus tard, n'existe plus.

« Ce que j'essayais de faire avec ces enregistrements », explique Earley, « était de capturer ce genre d'atmosphère que je ressentais et qui imprégnait la ville à cette époque. Je pense que j'essayais de capturer ce qu'était Portland à l'époque et ce que j'ai ressenti. Cette ville a disparu maintenant. Old Portland, nous l'appelons, mais Old Portland a disparu. Mais ce disque me donne l'impression de cette époque et de cette ville - quand elle était pauvre et moche et vraiment droguée. Et cela capture également la magie des zones rurales périphériques qui a également lentement changé. »

Cette magie peut être entendue dans chacune de ces chansons, et bien que la ville ait disparu de la vue - remplacée par une version plus récente, plus riche, plus brillante et plus grande d'elle-même - son élégance et sa beauté fracturée sont préservées dans les os de ce disque. Ces chansons existent comme des instantanés vivants de cette époque, qui rappellent la ville telle qu'elle était. En même temps – et tandis qu'Earley insiste sur le fait qu'il essayait seulement de capturer ce qu'était Portland à l'époque – il y a une mythologie dans les paroles et la musique, une vision imaginaire et semi-fictionnelle de Portland et du nord-ouest du Pacifique, une sorte de parallèle l'univers à celui qui existe réellement.

  1. L'heure du sommeil dans le monde occidental
  2. De l'or pour le pain
  3. Fourrure
  4. Dieu et suicide
  5. Feu et balles rapides
  6. samedi soir
  7. Tueur de la Rivière Noire
  8. Pas ton amant
  9. Je t'aime
  10. Guerre contre les machines
  11. Chaussures volées et un fusil
  12. Écho/Toujours activé/EZ Con
  13. Dame sur l'eau
  14. La guerre est un placebo
  15. Arbre simple
  16. Booksmart bébé
  17. Héros du doute
  18. Peut-être bébé
  19. Ballade de l'amour des oiseaux
  20. Coeur dur
  21. L'argent des autres
  22. En route pour la baie
  23. Louer un flic
  24. Dieu et le suicide (En direct à KCRW)
  25. Furr (En direct à KCRW)

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Blitzen Trapper - Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2LP) Vinyl Record

Blitzen Trapper - Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2LP) Vinyl Record

Regular price $ 22.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 22.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

 

It was on September 23, 2008 that Blitzen Trapper, after putting out three albums on its own label, released its fourth full-length album, Furr, via Sub Pop. At that time, it was a record that captured exactly where the band’s frontman, Eric Earley, found himself, both literally and metaphorically, geographically and existentially. Not that the Portland-based musician actually remembers much about the creation of the record’s 13 intriguing, spellbinding songs. Or, more specifically, what its songs actually mean, either now or then. Instead, Furr, stands as a kind of tribute and elegy to the city that inspired it, but that, a decade later, no longer exists.

“What I was trying to do with those recordings,” explains Earley, “was capture this kind of atmosphere that I was feeling and which pervaded the city at that time. I think I was attempting to capture what Portland was at the time and what it felt like to me. That city is gone now. Old Portland, we call it, but Old Portland has disappeared. But this record gives me the feeling of those times and this city— when it was poor and dumpy and really drug-addled. And it also captures the magic of the outlying rural areas that has slowly changed as well.”

That magic can be heard in each of these songs, and while the city may have vanished from sight – replaced by a newer, richer, shinier and bigger version of itself – its elegance and fractured beauty is preserved within the bones of this record. These songs exist as vivid snapshots of that time, ones that recall the city as it was. At the same time – and while Earley insists he was only trying to capture what Portland was at the time – there’s a mythology within the lyrics and the music, an imagined, semi-fictional vision of Portland and the Pacific Northwest, a kind of parallel universe to the one that actually exists.

  1. Sleepytime in the Western World
  2. Gold for Bread
  3. Furr
  4. God & Suicide
  5. Fire & Fast Bullets
  6. Saturday Nite
  7. Black River Killer
  8. Not Your Lover
  9. Love U
  10. War on Machines
  11. Stolen Shoes & a Rifle
  12. Echo/Always On/EZ Con
  13. Lady on the Water
  14. War Is Placebo
  15. Simple Tree
  16. Booksmart Baby
  17. Heroes of Doubt
  18. Maybe Baby
  19. Ballad of Bird Love
  20. Hard Heart
  21. Other People's Money
  22. On My Way to the Bay
  23. Rent-a-Cop
  24. God & Suicide (Live at KCRW)
  25. Furr (Live at KCRW)

Shipping & Returns

Shipping
We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Returns
Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details