Beirut - The Rip Tide Vinyl Record  (2332640772155)
Indie Vinyl Den Shipping Deals

Beirut - The Rip Tide Vinyl Record

  • €17,95
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 3 left!

The third studio album by the American indie-folk band, Beirut, originally released on August 30, 2011. Include digital album download coupon.

Beirut's Zach Condon decided to write the album after a rough tour in Brazil, where he suffered a perforated eardrum and was involved in a stage invasion. Unlike previous Beirut albums, The Rip Tide was more reflective of places closer to home; for example, the song "Santa Fe" was a homage to Condon's hometown. Condon reflected on that, saying "The vagabond thing – that was a teenage fantasy that I lived out in a big way. Music, to me, was escapism. And now I'm doing everything that is the opposite [of that] in my life. I'm married. I've got a house. I've got a dog. So it felt ridiculous, the narrative of what my career was supposed to be, compared to what I was actually trying to attempt in my life."

Influenced by the recording of For Emma, Forever Ago, Condon wrote The Rip Tide while he spent six months in isolation living in a Bethel, New York winter cabin. Unlike Beirut's previous albums, the music was recorded as a band playing together instead of laying down individual tracks one at a time. However, the lyrics were only added by Condon after all the music had been recorded.

1. "A Candle's Fire" 3:19
2. "Santa Fe" 4:14
3. "East Harlem" 3:58
4. "Goshen" 3:20
5. "Payne's Bay" 3:48
6. "The Rip Tide" 4:26
7. "Vagabond" 3:19
8. "The Peacock" 2:26
9. "Port of Call" 4:21