Beautiful South, The - Welcome to the Beautiful South Vinyl Record
Indie Vinyl Den Shipping Deals

Beautiful South, The - Welcome to the Beautiful South Vinyl Record

  • $ 36.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 left!

Their first album Welcome to the Beautiful South was released in 1989, and promptly produced a Number 2 UK Singles Chart hit, "Song For Whoever". With the follow-up single "You Keep It All In" reaching number 8 and "I'll Sail This Ship Alone" reaching number 31, the band was soon set to equal or surpass the success of The Housemartins, while the songwriting built on and expanded the trenchant social critiques which the previous band had been known for (topics included nationalism, domestic violence, football hooliganism and the self-serving industry of love songs, and the album's disturbing cover art also drew attention). Northern Irish singer Briana Corrigan was featured as a background vocalist on the album. Her contributions proved so successful that she was soon promoted to full membership status, as the band's third vocalist.


A1 Song For Whoever 6:10
A2 Have You Ever Been Away? 5:40
A3 From Under The Covers 3:59
A4 I'll Sail This Ship Alone 4:47
A5 Girlfriend 2:55
B1 You Keep It All In 2:52
B2 Woman In The Wall 5:15
B3 Oh Blackpool 3:06
B4 Love Is ... 7:00
B5 I Love You (But You're Boring)