Skip to product information
  • Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers - Damn the Torpedoes (180g) Vinyl Record  (5237044871325)
1 of 1

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers - Damn the Torpedoes (180g) Vinyl Record

Regular price
$ 26.88 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$ 26.88 USD

Damn The Torpedoes, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' third album (and first on Backstreet/MCA,) proved to be the breakthrough for the singer-songwriter-guitarist and his band (guitarist Mike Campbell, keyboardist Benmont Tench, bassist Ron Blair and drummer Stan Lynch). The album was released in October 1979, after a highly publicized lawsuit in which Petty made a groundbreaking stand for artist rights, refusing to be sold by one record company to another without his consent.

Damn The Torpedoes became the group's first Top 10, remaining at No. 2 for seven weeks (only Pink Floyd's The Wall kept it from the top). It sold over 5-million copies, and had 3 top 40 hits and 4 top 5 rock-radio hits. The album was an immediate critical success, with Rolling Stone declaring Damn The Torpedoes "the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album we have all been waiting for."

Produced by Petty and Jimmy Iovine, the album reached double platinum quickly and catapulted the band to arena performances where they played such classic cuts as the infectious Top 10 hit "Don't Do Me Like That," blistering rockers "Refugee" and "Here Comes My Girl," and the exhilarating "Even The Losers." Bursting with full speed ahead American rock ‘n' roll, the album brought together rock, folk, country and blues in what has become Petty and the Heartbreakers' signature style.

1. Refugee
2. Here Comes My Girl
3. Even The Losers
4. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)
5. Century City
6. Don't Do Me Like That
7. You Tell Me
8. What Are You Doin' In My Life?
9. Louisiana Rain