Cart 0
Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped Vinyl Record-Indie Vinyl Den

Sonic Youth - Rather Ripped Vinyl Record

  • $ 1999

Rather Ripped is Sonic Youth's 16th album, and their first without Jim O'Rourke's assistance since "A Thousand Leaves". Here, SY provide a 12-song set of concise melodic rockers, recorded once again at Sear Sound ("Sister" "Experimental Jet Set, Trash and No Star" "Psychic Hearts"), capturing crystal clear guitar tones, both warm and bright. The band's own Echo Canyon studio would close forever shortly before the album's release, and some of the last tracks recorded were two 'Rather Ripped' outtakes that appear on a companion 7". Kim plays bass on all tracks but one, Lee's "Rats", which features Thurston on bass for the first time since "My Friend Goo". Former Free Kitten/Pavement bassist Mark Ibold was enlisted for the subsequent tour, playing bass on most songs, opening the floor for Kim to concentrate on her singing (and dancing!) for the 'Rather Ripped' tunes.

  1. Reena
  2. Incinerate
  3. Do You Believe in Rapture?
  4. Sleepin' Around
  5. What a Waste
  6. Jams Run Free
  7. Rats
  8. Turquoise Boy
  9. Lights Out
  10. The Neutral
  11. Pink Steam
  12. Or

We Also Recommend