Slowdive - Just For A Day (180g) Vinyl Record  (534165487675)

Slowdive - Just For A Day (180g) Vinyl Record

  • $ 28.88
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 left!

Formed by longtime friends Neil Halstead and Rachel Goswell in October of 1989, English shoegaze legends Slowdive released three acclaimed studio albums (Just For A Day, Souvlaki and Pygmailion) between 1991 and 1995 before disbanding and going in a different direction with the laidback, country-tinged Mojave 3.

Issued in 1991 on Creation Records, Just For A Day is Slowdive's atmospheric debut album which finds Halstead and Goswell supported by Christian Savill (guitar), Nick Chaplin (bass) and Simon Scott (drums). The dreamy 9-song set peaked at No. 3 on the UK indie charts and served as an excellent introduction and promising precursor to the band's subsequent masterworks.

"The band's sound is soothing, less abrasive than most of its contemporaries, with the guitars pulsating like a warm electronic orchestra while breathy vocals melt into the gloss. At times, as on "Spanish Air," the layered tension buildup suggests the coming of a slowly moving storm. Other times, as on "Ballad of Sister Sue," a delicate melody creeps out of the background to writhe inside your head." - Mark Caro, Chicago Tribune

  1. Spanish Air
  2. Celia's Dream
  3. Catch The Breeze
  4. Ballad of Sister Sue
  5. Erik's Song
  6. Waves
  7. Brighter
  8. The Sadman
  9. Primal

We Also Recommend