Passer aux informations produits
  • Sleater-Kinney - No Cities to Love Vinyl Record  (1247816515)
1 sur 1

Sleater-Kinney - Pas de villes à aimer Disque vinyle

Prix habituel
€17,95 EUR
Prix habituel
Prix soldé
€17,95 EUR
Le nouveau disque est le premier en 10 ans du trio acclamé - Brownstein, le chanteur/guitariste Corin Tucker et la batteuse Janet Weiss - qui est sorti de la scène des émeutes du nord-ouest du Pacifique des années 90, établissant une nouvelle barre pour la perspicacité politique du punk et impact Emotionnel. Formé à Olympia, WA en 1994, Sleater-Kinney a été salué comme "le meilleur groupe de rock américain" par Greil Marcus dans Time Magazine , et a sorti sept albums brûlants en 10 ans avant de faire une pause indéfinie en 2006.

Mais le nouvel album ne parle pas de souvenirs, il s'agit de réinvention - l'allumage d'une chimie sans précédent pour créer de nouveaux sons et raconter de nouvelles histoires. « J'ai toujours considéré Corin et Carrie comme des âmes sœurs musicales dans la tradition des plus grands », dit Weiss, dont la batterie alimente le feu de l'interaction vocale et guitare de Tucker et Brownstein. "Quelque chose à propos de faire une pause les a rapprochés, désespérés de se réunir à nouveau pour leur véritable expression." Le résultat est un disque aux prises avec l'amour, le pouvoir et la rédemption sans retenue. "Nous voulons tous les trois la même chose", dit Weiss. "Nous voulons que les chansons soient intimidantes."

Produit par John Goodmanson, collaborateur de longue date de Sleater-Kinney, qui a dirigé de nombreux albums précédents du groupe, dont Dig Me Out en 1997, No Cities to Love est en effet formidable dès le premier temps. Le titre principal "Price Tag" est un hymne percutant sur la cupidité et le coût humain du capitalisme, établissant à la fois la force mélodique de l'album et ses thèmes de pouvoir et d'impuissance, donnant la voix, comme le dit Tucker, à ceux qui " luttent pour être entendus contre le culture dominante ou statu quo.

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sleater-Kinney - No Cities to Love Vinyl Record

Sleater-Kinney - No Cities to Love Vinyl Record

Regular price $ 19.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 19.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The new record is the first in 10 years from the acclaimed trio–Brownstein, vocalist/guitarist Corin Tucker, and drummer Janet Weiss–who came crashing out of the ’90s Pacific Northwest riot grrrl scene, setting a new bar for punk’s political insight and emotional impact. Formed in Olympia, WA in 1994, Sleater-Kinney were hailed as “America’s best rock band” by Greil Marcus in Time Magazine, and put out seven searing albums in 10 years before going on indefinite hiatus in 2006.

But the new album isn’t about reminiscing, it’s about reinvention–the ignition of an unparalleled chemistry to create new sounds and tell new stories. “I always considered Corin and Carrie to be musical soulmates in the tradition of the greats,” says Weiss, whose drums fuel the fire of Tucker and Brownstein’s vocal and guitar interplay. “Something about taking a break brought them closer, desperate to reach together again for their true expression.” The result is a record that grapples with love, power and redemption without restraint. “The three of us want the same thing,” says Weiss. “We want the songs to be daunting.”

Produced by long-time Sleater-Kinney collaborator John Goodmanson, who helmed many of the band’s earlier albums including 1997 breakout set Dig Me Out, No Cities to Love is indeed formidable from the first beat. Lead track “Price Tag” is a pounding anthem about greed and the human cost of capitalism, establishing both the album’s melodic drive and its themes of power and powerlessness–giving voice, as Tucker says, to those who “struggle to be heard against the dominant culture or status quo.”

Shipping & Returns

Shipping
We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Returns
Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details