Skip to product information
  • Gruff Rhys - Seeking New Gods [Limited Edition Green Color Vinyl Record]
1 of 1

Gruff Rhys - Seeking New Gods [Limited Edition Green Color Vinyl Record]

Regular price
€23,95 EUR
Regular price
Sale price
€23,95 EUR

Gruff Rhys's new album Seeking New Gods was recorded following a US tour with his band and mixed in LA with superstar producer Mario C (Beastie Boys). The album concept was originally driven to be the biography of a mountain, Mount Paektu (an East Asian active volcano). However, as Gruff's writing began to reflect on the inhuman timescale of a peak's existence and the intimate features that bring it to mythological life, both the songs and the mountain became more and more personal.

"The album is about people and the civilisations, and the spaces people inhabit over periods of time," Rhys explains. "How people come and go but the geology sticks around and changes more slowly. I think it's about memory and time. It's still a biography of a mountain, but now it's a Mount Paektu of the mind. You won't learn much about the real mountain from listening to this record but you will feel something, hopefully."

The typically beautiful art direction is by Mark James and the LP features a mountain die-cut envelope-style sleeve with a belly band and is pressed on colored vinyl.

  1. Mausoleum Of My Former Self
  2. Can't Carry On
  3. Loan Your Loneliness
  4. Seeking New Gods
  5. Hiking In Lightning
  6. Holiest Of The Holy Of The Holy Men
  7. The Keep
  8. Everlasting Joy
  9. Distant Snowy Peaks