Skip to product information
1 of 3

Wilco - Summerteeth: Deluxe Edition (180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set)

Wilco - Summerteeth: Deluxe Edition (180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set)

Regular price $ 120.88 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 120.88 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set Reissue featuring Original Album Newly Remastered by Bob Ludwig and Unreleased Demos, Alternates & Outtake Recordings Plus Exclusive Previously Unreleased Live-In-Store Performance!

Named 1999's best record by preeminent Chicago Tribune rock critic, NPR "Sound Opinions" co-host, and Wilco: Learning to Die book author Greg Kot, Summerteeth is an astonishing work of melodic pop, dark introspection, and lush arrangements. Presenting an entirely different side of Wilco, the album was primarily recorded by vocalist/guitarist Jeff Tweedy and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Jay Bennett. Unabated by any constraints and assisted by chemicals, the pair delved head-first into the limitless possibilities of studio experimentation. The record's gorgeous atmospheres, soaring harmonies, finite textures, and countless arrays of sound effects masterfully balanced the deeply introspective, often disturbing lyrics.

Inspired by literature he consumed on tour, Tweedy's songwriting is more courageous, dire, and personal. Shaded with violence and addiction, the surrealist narratives of "She's a Jar" and "A Shot in the Arm" belie the beautiful arrangements, which, as the record progresses, unfold with increasingly uplifting purpose. Designed to be heard from start-to-finish, Summerteeth plays out like a fever dream, the music floating and hovering, negotiating the difficult balance between melancholy and happiness, with hope ultimately bursting through on the closing songs "Summer Teeth," "In a Future Age," and the hidden track "Candyfloss," the most exuberant piece of bubblegum pop Wilco ever composed. Largely overdubbed with Pro Tools, Summerteeth remains a sonic extravaganza. Featuring everything from alarm clocks to buzzing synthesizers to brass accents and banjo strings, songs transcend genres and resonate with majestic imagination, gentle warmth, and emotional conviction.

A fully realized work of sublime ambiguity and musical scope, Summerteeth gets a Deluxe Edition 180g vinyl 5LP box set reissue in 2020 featuring the original album newly remastered by Bob Ludwig as well as unreleased demos, alternates and outtake recordings. The set also contains a special, exclusive performance from early 1999 titled, An Unmitigated Disaster, a previously unreleased live in-store performance at Tower Records on March 11, 1999, just two days after the album was released. The 9-song set, which was broadcast on Chicago radio station WXRT-FM, highlights several tracks from Summerteeth ("We're Just Friends," "How To Fight Loneliness" and "Can't Stand It"). This show is exclusive to the Deluxe Edition 5LP collection.

• Deluxe Edition 180g vinyl LP box set reissue
• Produced and compiled by Cheryl Pawelski and Jeff Tweedy with Tom Schick
• Original 1999 studio album newly remastered by Bob Ludwig
• Unreleased demos, alternates and outtake recordings
• Exclusive previously unreleased live in-store performance at Tower Records from March 11, 1999
• All tracks in this edition mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, Portland, ME, in May 2020
• Vinyl mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios, Hollywood, CA
• Bonus studio tracks and demos mixed by Tom Schick at The Loft, Chicago, IL
• Live at Tower Records/WXRT 3/11/99 broadcast engineered and mixed by Mike Konopka, assisted by Dan Glomski for Metro Mobile Recording, Timothy R. Powell. Engineered for WXRT by John Carey
• Original and deluxe edition art direction and design by Lawrence Azerrad
• Liner notes written by John Mulvey

Track Listing


  1. Can't Stand It
  2. She's a Jar
  3. A Shot in the Arm
  4. We're Just Friends
  5. I'm Always in Love
  6. Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again)
  7. Pieholden Suite
  8. How to Fight Loneliness


  1. Via Chicago
  2. ELT
  3. My Darling
  4. When You Wake up Feeling Old
  5. Summer Teeth
  6. In a Future Age
  7. Candyfloss
  8. A Shot in the Arm (Remix)


  1. Tried and True (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  2. I'm Always in Love (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  3. All I Need (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  4. I'll Sing It (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  5. Two Guitars (Instrumental) [2020 Remaster]
  6. Candyfloss (Demo)
  7. In a Future Age (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  8. No Hurry (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  9. She's a Jar (Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  10. Can't Locator It (Guitar Riff Demo) [2020 Remaster]
  11. Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again) [Demo] [2020 Remaster]
  12. Summer Teeth (Slow Rhodes Version)
  13. Pieholden Suite (Alternate) [2020 Remaster]


  1. I'm Always in Love (Early Run Through) [2020 Remaster]
  2. My Darling (Alternate) [2020 Remaster]
  3. Tried and True (Alternate) [2020 Remaster]
  4. She's a Jar (Alternate) [2020 Remaster]
  5. Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again) [Alternate] [2020 Remaster]
  6. Candy Floss (Intro)
  7. Every Little Thing (Alternate)
  8. Viking Dan (Outtake)
  9. We're Just Friends / Yee Haw (10/29/99 Minneapolis Soundcheck)
  10. Summer Teeth (Alternate)
  11. In a Future Age (Take 3)


  1. I'm Always in Love (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  2. Via Chicago (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  3. How to Fight Loneliness (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  4. She's a Jar (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  5. We're Just Friends (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  6. Can't Stand It (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  7. I Got You (At the End of the Century) [Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99]
  8. Forget the Flowers (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)
  9. California Stars (Live on WXRT at Tower Records, Chicago, IL 3/11/99)

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

One of the the best vinyl record albums by Wilco - Summerteeth: Deluxe Edition (180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set)

Voted Best Online Record Store 2022

View full details