Skip to product information
  • Stef Chura - Midnight [Very Limited Blue Color Vinyl]  (2299535163451)
1 of 1

Stef Chura - Midnight [Very Limited Blue Color Vinyl]

Regular price
$ 43.88 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$ 43.88 USD

Exclusive Retailer Version. Limited to 300 Worldwide.

"For most people who create art, I would assume there is some kind of deep unanswerable hole in your soul as to why you're making it..." So says Stef Chura upon the release of Midnight, her gritty, vehement new album - recorded and produced by Will Toledo of Car Seat Headrest - and her first new collection of songs for the Saddle Creek label. Illuminating that search for answers with a fevered sense of exploration, Midnight is a bold leap forward from Messes, Chura's contagious debut album, with every aspect of her new work finding bold ways to express itself as it rips through 12 restless and relentless new tracks.

If its predecessor was a raw, somewhat unadorned document, then Midnight is the muscular, swaggering evolution. "This album has a depth to it and a particular sound because of Will," Stef states regarding Toledo's input, whose spiky nuances can be found across the length and breadth of Midnight, the record presenting an exhilarating rush of sound and color as Stef's spirited vocal finds and signature guitar sounds unravel alongside in a thrilling meeting of ideas and influences. Where Stef's voice was previously a somewhat ambiguous character, somewhat buried within her songs, here it is the striking opposite, an assured voice that drives the whole thing forward. Proof of this outlook can be found on the edgy lead track "Method Man," a boisterous 3-minutes that melds jagged, skewed guitars with a distinctive voice that has a new-found sense of confidence. You can find it elsewhere too, in fact, it runs right through the heart of Midnight's 12-tracks.

Take the sweeping brilliance of "Jumpin' Jack," a somewhat more refined three-minutes that bursts into a thrilling finale, or "Sincerely Yours," a brooding four-minutes initially gives deserved space to Stef's voice and words more than ever before, before bursting into life with pent-up energy that positively roars from within. Equal parts thrilling and angsty, Midnight is a testament to the collaborative process, a record that makes the very most of those who came together to make it, but more than that, it's a firm statement of tenacity and perseverance, of not resting on your laurels but leaping forwards no matter the situation you find yourself in. 

UPC 648401027136

  1. All I Do is Lie
  2. Scream
  3. Degrees
  4. Method Man
  5. Trumbull
  6. Jumpin' Jack
  7. Sincerely Yours
  8. 3D Girl
  9. Sweet Sweet Midnight
  10. Love Song
  11. They'll Never
  12. Eyes Without a Face