Cart 0
Vinyl - Shit Robot - What Follows Vinyl Record

Shit Robot - What Follows Vinyl Record

  • $ 2199

Marcus Lambkin aka Shit Robot returns with his third full length album for DFA Records, entitled What Follows. The album follows Lambkin's previous long-players, From The Cradle To The Rave (2010) and We Got A Love (2014), which drew plaudits from the likes of The Guardian and Pitchfork, and featured Reggie Watts and James Murphy among the array of contributors. The album was recorded at Marcus' home studio in Stuttgart and various New York studios, then mixed in DFA label mate Juan Maclean's New Hampshire studio. As with those previous albums, the Dublin-born producer has enlisted the help of a stellar cast of guest vocalists, with previous collaborators Alexis Taylor, Museum of Love and Nancy Whang returning alongside newer guests Jay Green and leftfield fellow Dubliner New Jackson. Taylor turns in two vocal performances on lead single 'End Of The Trail' and album opener 'In Love'; Museum of Love lend the album title track an air of what could have been made in the two months in between the death of Joy Divison and the birth of New Order; and Nancy Whang gave such a strong vocal for 'Lose Control' that Lambkin and Maclean threw out the existing track and recorded the backing along with the vocal in one take, which the two producers working the machines live. Best known for fronting iconic American punk bands Orchid and Panthers, Jay Green narrates Is There No End as thought it were sibling to 'From The Cradle To The Rave' single Simple Things. New Jackson makes two appearances, on both Wir Warten and OB-8 (Winter Version), adding oddball vocals and spaced-out Krautrock guitar arrangements.

Full Length Vinyl 1
Side A Side B
01    In Love
02    What Follows
03    Ten Miles High
01    Lose Control
02    End Of The Trail
Full Length Vinyl 2
Side A Side B
01    Phase Out
02    Wir Warten
01    Is There No End
02    OB-8 (Winter Mix)   

We Also Recommend