Skip to product information
1 of 1


Sad13 - Haunted Painting [Limited Edition Pink Color Vinyl]

Sad13 - Haunted Painting [Limited Edition Pink Color Vinyl]

Regular price $ 4.00 USD
Regular price $ 21.99 USD Sale price $ 4.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

For nearly a decade, Sadie Dupuis has been celebrated for her literary lyrics, accomplished guitar playing, and embodied ethos of empowerment, whether with rock band Speedy Ortiz or the pop-oriented solo project Sad13, which debuted in 2016 with Lizzo co-feature "Basement Queens." Haunted PaintingSad13's second album and first for Dupuis' label Wax Nine marks her return to artmaking.

"Some of these songs feel like emotions that came from a cloud, and I was trying to translate them," she says. But the scope of a Sad13 song is rarely only personal. As ever, Sad13 weaves timely societal critiques into rushing hooks and whip-smart wordplay that's all still a blast: riffer "WTD" is about climate gentrification and billionaires' consequent desire to colonize the ocean and space. Album opener "Into the Catacombs," which melds orchestral strings with glitched-out horror sounds, came after a 2016 trip to Buenos Aires' human rights memorial ESMA with her mother, Diane Dupuis. Haunted Painting braids the political and the poetic, interests that extend to Dupuis' recent work with No Music for ICE, the Union of Musicians and Allied Workers, and as editor of the newly-established Wax Nine poetry journal.

It all finds Dupuis, already one of the sharpest lyricists of her generation, leveling up as an arranger and producer. Drawing inspiration from 1980s British pop-rock à la Tracy Ullman and Joan Armatrading, as well as the contemporary digital gloss of post-PC Music electronica, she calls Haunted Painting "decidedly non-minimal," mixing technicolor synth-pop and math-rock dynamism. Accompanied throughout by drummer Zoë Brecher – and, on two songs, by an eight-piece orchestra – Dupuis handles all other instrumentation herself, expanding her palette of guitar, bass, and synth to include organ, lap steel, marimba, glockenspiel, sitar, autoharp, theremin, "toys, trash, and ephemera."

She worked exclusively with women engineers; among those credited are mixer Sarah Tudzin (Weyes Blood, Illuminati Hotties), tracking engineers Erin Tonkon (David Bowie, Esperanza Spalding) and Maryam Qudus (Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, mxmtoon), and Dupuis' long term collaborator, mastering legend Emily Lazar (Beck, Dolly Parton). The process allowed for a diversity of timbres, as well as guest vocal contributions from Helado Negro's Roberto Lange, Deerhoof's Satomi Matsuzaki, Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs, and Pile's Rick Maguire.

  1. Into the Catacombs
  2. WTD?
  3. Hysterical
  4. Ghost (of a Good Time)
  5. Oops...!
  6. Good Grief
  7. Ruby Wand
  8. With Baby
  9. The Crow
  10. Take Care
  11. Market Hotel

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details