Vinyl - Ra Ra Riot - Beta Love Vinyl Record

Ra Ra Riot - Beta Love Vinyl Record

  • $ 18.88

Only 1 left!

Beta Love is Ra Ra Riot's third album, set for release on Barsuk Records. The album marks the band's first outing as a four piece with members Wes Miles on vocals, Milo Bonacci on guitar, Mathieu Santos on bass and Rebecca Zeller on violin forming the core of the group. The recording process found band members exploring and re-defining their roles within the new makeup of the group. Beta Love's songs are informed by the works of cyberpunk novelist William Gibson and futurist Ray Kurzweil's musings on the technological singularity and transhumanism. 
Inspired by their lean new lineup, Ra Ra Riot built upon demos created mostly by Miles and producer Dennis Herring (Modest Mouse, Elvis Costello, Wavves) at Sweet Tea Studios in Oxford, MS. For the first time in their history, Ra Ra Riot recorded in a warmer climate and found themselves stimulated by the balmy Southern air and the physical setting of Oxford. Joined by session drummer Josh Freese (Devo, Nine Inch Nails, Weezer), the band enjoyed exploring its potential, experimenting with new influences and exciting sounds. 
Mathieu said of the sessions that "Recording the record was a lot of fun for us, because we were in a completely different environment, trying a completely new approach. We'd been used to arriving at a session with every song totally arranged and figured out, but in Oxford, a lot of the creative decision-making happened in the studio, on the fly. We wanted to be outside of our collective comfort zone for this record. We wanted to be open to new things happening. There was a lot of building up and tearing down, a lot of problem solving, a lot of trial and error, and that was really exciting for us."
1.  Dance With Me
2.  Binary Mind
3.  Beta Love
4.  Is It Too Much
5.  For Once
6.  Angel, Please
7.  What I Do For U
8.  When I Dream
9.  That Much
10. Wilderness
11. I Shut Off