Passer aux informations produits
  • Quasi - Field Studies [2LP White Color Vinyl]  (6869000771)
1 sur 1

Quasi - Études sur le terrain [Vinyle de couleur blanche 2LP]

Prix habituel
$ 20.88 USD
Prix habituel
Prix soldé
$ 20.88 USD
UPC 796818007217
Quasi Allongez encore plus loin études sur le terrain, leur quatrième album, et facilement justifier leur statut récente comme l' un des plus grands fournisseurs de la pop underground. Tous les éléments qui ont fait leur album précédent, featuring « Birds », si largement acclamé – écriture de chansons concises, mélodies arquées et harmonies irréprochables sur des rythmes parfois bruyants et toujours propulsifs – sont développés davantage sur Field Studies. La palette tonale s'est élargie pour inclure les cordes, l'orgue d'église, le thérémine et divers instruments électroniques, en plus des claviers, des guitares et de la batterie qui ont toujours été leurs piliers.

D'une manière ou d'une autre, Sam Coomes et Janet Weiss parviennent à nouveau à jouer eux-mêmes presque tous les instruments du disque. Ils accomplissent cette tâche bien qu'ils aient passé la plus grande partie de 1999 sur la route à jouer soit en tant que Quasi, avec Sleater-Kinney (l'autre groupe de Janet), soit en tant que membre du groupe de tournée d'Elliott Smith. Quasi rend la pareille à Elliott en nature sur Field Studies, enrôlant ses prouesses à la guitare basse sur plusieurs chansons.

Les études sur le terrain ont été principalement enregistrées à Jackpot ! Studio à Portland, OR avec Larry Crane (du magazine Tape Op); quelques chansons ont été enregistrées à Seattle avec Phil Ek (Built to Spill, Fleet Foxes), une a été enregistrée dans la vieille église de Portland et une autre a été enregistrée chez Janet, où Quasi a enregistré l'intégralité de son premier album. Hourra pour les gloomy gusses!

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Quasi - Field Studies [2LP White Color Vinyl]

Quasi - Field Studies [2LP White Color Vinyl]

Regular price $ 20.88 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 20.88 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quasi stretch out yet further on Field Studies, their fourth album, and easily justify their recent status as one of the foremost purveyors of underground pop. Every element that made their previous album, Featuring “Birds”, so widely acclaimed – concise songwriting, arching melodies, and dead- on harmonies atop occasionally clamorous and always- propulsive rhythms – is further developed on Field Studies. The tonal palette has expanded to include strings, church organ, theremin, and various electronic instruments, in addition to the keyboards, guitars, and drums that have always been their mainstays.

Somehow, Sam Coomes and Janet Weiss manage once again to play nearly all the instruments on the record themselves. They accomplish this task despite spending the better part of 1999 on the road performing either as Quasi, with Sleater-Kinney (Janet’s other band), or as part of Elliott Smith’s touring band. Quasi returns the favor to Elliott in kind on Field Studies, enlisting his prowess on bass guitar on several songs.

Field Studies was mostly recorded at Jackpot! Studio in Portland, OR with Larry Crane (of Tape Op magazine); a couple of songs were recorded in Seattle with Phil Ek (Built to Spill, Fleet Foxes), one was recorded in Portland’s Old Church, and another was recorded at Janet’s home, where Quasi recorded their entire first album.Hooray for gloomy gusses!

Shipping & Returns

Shipping
We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Returns
Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

View full details