Skip to product information
  • Matthew Sweet - Catspaw [Limited Orange Color Vinyl Record]
1 of 1

Matthew Sweet - Catspaw [Limited Orange Color Vinyl Record]

Regular price
$ 27.99 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$ 27.99 USD
UPC 816651019458

Matthew Sweet played in several bands in Athens, GA as that scene exploded, collaborating with R.E.M.'s Michael Stipe, playing in Linda Stipe's Oh-OK, and The Buzz Of Delight. That work scooped him up into the major label world making countless acclaimed solo records, forming the supergroup The Thorns with Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and beginning a series of covers albums with The Bangles' Susanna Hoffs. Now, it's time for Matthew to just plain rock out by himself again.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to present Catspaw – written, produced, recorded, mixed, and entirely performed (save ferocious drumming from Ric Menck of Velvet Crush) by Matthew at his home studio. Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, the Hofner bass and Novo guitars sing and howl, harkening back to classics like Girlfriend and Altered Beast – all while retaining the hooks that dig into the listener. Well, like a cat's paw.

Catspaw opens a new chapter in the storied history of Matthew Sweet – his first album in his fifth decade as a recording artist. It may seem cute on the outside, but be prepared to get gobsmacked by Catspaw!

  1. Blown Away
  2. Give A Little
  3. Challenge The Gods
  4. Come Home
  5. Drifting
  6. Best Of Me
  7. Stars Explode
  8. Hold On Tight
  9. At A Loss
  10. No Surprise
  11. Coming Soon
  12. Parade Of Lights

NFTs, Crypto, and Music

Many musicians are embracing the sales of NFT (non-fungible tokens.) Find out how you can start buying Crypto Currency and NFTs today by using our choice of Coinbase. Get $10 worth of Bitcoin free after $100 of deposits.

Learn More!