Matthew Sweet - Altered Beast Expanded Edition [Limited 180g Transparent Blue Color Vinyl]

  • $ 32.99

Only 1 left!

Artist-Approved 180g 2LP Expanded Edition with 6 Bonus Tracks

100% Analog Mastered from the Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound

Intervention Records and Matthew Sweet are proud to introduce the new Artist-Approved reissue series, Matthew Sweet 1991-1995! In 2018 Intervention is releasing 2LP Expanded Editions of Sweet's 90's power-pop trilogy, Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun, plus the Son of Altered Beast 7-song EP, which is appearing on vinyl for the very first time. Each Expanded Edition is loaded with bonus tracks that are either appearing on vinyl for the very first time or seeing their official release for the very first time. And for Sweet completists, these LPs are the most extensive collection of extra tracks compiled and packaged with the studio albums the songs were recorded for!

All four LPs are 100% analog mastered from the original analog master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The ultra-quiet 180g LPs are pressed at boutique press, RTI in Camarillo, CA. The jacket art for the reissues have been faithfully restored by IR's art director Tom Vadakan. The Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun Expanded Editions will also be released as hybrid CD/SACDs. These discs play in all CD and SACD players and are mastered from the original analog master tapes Direct-to-DSD and will feature very analog-like sound. They will be housed in super jewel boxes.

The middle entry in Sweet's holy 90's power-pop trilogy, Altered Beast is a sprawling, multi-dimensional trip finally presented at its artistic fullest. Sweet was a songwriting machine in this period, and in doing source research a third analog master reel with 6 extra tracks was discovered. Intervention's Expanded Edition is a 21-track beast that shows a master songwriter at his prolific best. While many of these extra tracks were used as B-sides on CD singles and saw release on other compilations, this Expanded Edition places these songs in the context they belong, with the album for which they were recorded. Hearing the quality of tracks like "Superdeformed" one wonders how Altered Beast wasn't originally a double LP!

The original 1990's LP crammed all 56 minutes of the original repertoire onto two LP sides, forcing dramatically lower levels, much softer dynamics and less expressive bass. Intervention's cut expands the original repertoire over three vinyl sides, opening up the sound stage and for the very first time presenting this amazing recording will full bass extension and dynamic power! The result is the best-sounding Altered Beast that's ever been or ever will be! This is simply a fabulous-sounding rock recording that's big, bold and super fun to listen to. Altered Beast's album art is printed as a gorgeous "Old Style" gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It's printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels are printed by Dorado.

Mastering Notes:
The master tapes are 30ips 1/2" analog reels, and the six bonus tracks live on their own analog master reel.

• Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
• 100% analog mastering from the original master tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
• 6 bonus tracks not included on original release
• Ultra-quiet 180-gram vinyl pressed at RTI
• Beautifully restored "Old Style" gatefold jacket printed by Stoughton

1. Dinosaur Act
2. Devil With the Green Eyes
3. The Ugly Truth
4. Time Capsule
5. Someone To Pull The Trigger
6. Knowing People
7. Life Without You
8. Intro
9. Ugly Truth Rock
10. Do It Again
11. In Too Deep

1. Reaching Out
2. Falling
3. What Do You Know?
4. Evergreen
5. Born In Sin (bonus track)
6. Ultrasuede (bonus track)
7. Superdeformed (bonus track)
8. Speed of Light (bonus track)
9. Thing (bonus track)
10. Bovine Connection (bonus track)