Vinyl - Lykke Li- Wounded Rhymes New Sealed Vinyl

Lykke Li- Wounded Rhymes New Sealed Vinyl

  • $ 21.99

Only 1 left!

Wounded Rhymes is the second studio album by Swedish recording artist Lykke Li, released on 24 February 2011. Recorded in Los Angeles, the album was produced by Björn Yttling of Peter Bjorn and John, who also handled production for Li's debut album, Youth Novels (2008). Upon release, Wounded Rhymes received acclaim from music critics, who viewed it as an improvement on its predecessor. It produced four singles, including "I Follow Rivers", which charted inside the top five in several European countries.

Li spent six months writing and recording the album in the Echo Park neighbourhood of Los Angeles, while visiting the desert, rewatching Alejandro Jodorowsky's 1973 film The Holy Mountain and listening to Alan Lomax field recordings, eventually coming up with songs she calls "hypnotic, psychotic and more primal".[1] In an interview with Pitchfork Mediaon 18 November 2010, when asked if "Get Some" was an indicative of the rest of the album, Li responded:

"It's just a snapshot, but the album is darker, moodier, and the lyrics are heavier. There's less atmosphere, more directness. I was 19 when I recorded my first album, and I've been exposed to many things during these last few years; all the baby fat is gone. I dove into the craziness and did things that maybe I would think twice about when I get older. And I'm a really restless person; I'm tired of the way I sounded or looked yesterday. So it's hard to hang onto this image of me as this young Swedish female in this world. People comment on how you look, it's so unnecessary. I just wanted people to listen to what I have to say instead of focusing on anything else. And, of course, there are a lot of things I'm angry about in the world."

Track listing
1."Youth Knows No Pain" 2:59
2."I Follow Rivers"  3:48
3."Love Out of Lust"  4:43
4."Unrequited Love"  3:11
5."Get Some"  3:22
6."Rich Kids Blues"  3:01
7."Sadness Is a Blessing"  4:00
8."I Know Places"  6:06
9."Jerome"  4:22
10."Silent My Song"  5:24