Love-Birds, The  - In the Lover's Corner  (1330419499067)

Love-Birds, The - In the Lover's Corner

  • $ 11.00
  • Save $ 10.99

Only 2 left!

San Francisco's The Love-Birds have been tearing up their local scene, breaking hearts and making fans across the city's disappearing DIY spaces and proper venues alike since 2016. After releasing a 7" EP in early 2017, they unveil their debut In The Lover's Corner. It eases in with "Again"; it's gentle acoustic strum augmented by guitarist Eli Wald's chiming electric 12-string. Dynamic, life-affirming power-pop follows; bell-ringing, fuzz stompers ("River Jordan"), warm, carefully crafted fragile pop ("Clear The Air," "Failure and Disgrace"), and urgent, crystalline rockers ("Hit My Head," "Weak Riff"). They approach their craft with a classicist's ear; with nods to their '70s originators as well as '90s torchbearers, composing near-perfect future classics that ooze with subtle, interesting melodic twists and hummable, finger-pricking hooks. Aside from mastering by Norman Blake (Teenage Fanclub), In The Lover 's Corner is a decidedly local affair, with album art by Shayde Sartin (Fresh & Onlys, Sonny and the Sunsets) and recorded in two sessions, one with engineer Glenn Donaldson (Art Museums, Skygreen Leopards) and another with Kelley Stoltz.

  1. Again
  2. Hit My Head
  3. Angela
  4. Clear the Air
  5. December (Get to You)
  6. Kiss and Tell
  7. Gerrit
  8. Weak Riff
  9. River Jordan
  10. Tommy's Theme
  11. Failure and Disgrace