La Sera - Music For Listening To Music To [ White 180g Vinyl]  (5560066563)

La Sera - Music For Listening To Music To [ White 180g Vinyl]

  • $ 15.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save $ 3.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 left!

The title of La Sera's fourth album says a lot by saying so precious little:Music For Listening to Music To. So, in other words, "music." After the punky heft and wildness of 2014's Hour of the Dawn, an LP that thrashed against expectation, Katy Goodman returns with a set of songs that double down on solid simplicity — the power of wry lyrics, glorious guitar, driving backbeat, and the occasional pump organ groove. And as the record cover gives away, Goodman isn't alone.

La Sera is a duo now — that's guitarist/cowriter/new husband (!) Todd Wisenbaker standing up there. And Ryan Adams joins to produce the fruit of their union, La Sera's first live-recorded analog album, featuring 10 tunes about good love, bad love, dead men, and confused kids.

Music For Listening to Music To opens on "High Notes," where rollicking guitar and punk drums chugga-chugga beneath Goodman's assured coo. Her lines deftly wrap the snark of Morrissey inside the sneer of Johnny Cash, and if you ask her what her favorite parts of the new album are, she'll tell you it's the scrappy stuff. "Time to Go," which hurdles out the gate on a rocket of slide guitar and elastic bass, is another one aimed at settling old accounts — just 'cause our heroine is happily married doesn't mean she can't take swings at those who came before.

For a glimpse at the album's genesis, though, pull up duet "One True Love." When it came time to write her fourth full-length, Goodman wasn't sure where she wanted to take the music. One night she and Wisenbaker (a Jenny and Johnny touring alum who joined La Sera in 2012 and produced Hour of the Dawn) did something they'd shockingly never done before: wrote a song together. That upbeat jangle-pop cut was the result, and the rest poured out. Wisenbaker sings on two others as well — the coiffed malt shop blues of "I Need an Angel" and bittersweet rocker "Nineties," which features synth by Adams and Greta Morgan (The Hush Sound, Gold Motel). Nate Lotz (Halsey,Madi Diaz) drummed for the weeklong PAX-AM studio sessions.

1  High Notes (2:05)
2  A Thousand Ways (2:55)
3  One True Love (2:57)
4  Begins to Rain (2:53)
5  Take My Heart (4:22)
6  I Need an Angel (3:49)
7  Time To Go (2:01)
8  Shadow of Your Love (3:14)
9  Nineties (3:21)
10  Too Little Too Late (3:17)


We Also Recommend