Skip to product information
  • Jay Som - Anak Ko [VERY RARE 180-gram Red/Orange Mix color vinyl]  (4365107396672)
1 of 1

Jay Som - Anak Ko [VERY RARE 180-gram Red/Orange Mix color vinyl]

Regular price
€33,95 EUR
Regular price
Sale price
€33,95 EUR

Early Bird Edition LImited to on 750 Worldwide. Sold out elsewhere. It comes with artwork booklet containing liner notes and a Jay Som sticker.

Melina Duterte is a master of voice: Hers is dream-pop songs that hint at a universe of her own creation. Recording as Jay Som since 2015, Duterte’s world of shy, swirling intimacies always contains disarming ease, a sky-bent sparkle and a grounding indie-rock humility. In an era of burnout, the title track of her 2017 breakout, Everybody Works, remains a balm and an anthem.

Duterte’s life became a whirlwind in the wake of Everybody Works. After spending her teen years and early 20s exploring an eclectic array of musical styles—studying jazz trumpet as a child, carrying on her Filipino family tradition of spirited karaoke, and quietly recording indie-pop songs in her bedroom alone—that accomplished album found her playing festivals around the world, sharing stages with the likes of Paramore, Death Cab for Cutie, and Mitski.

In November of 2017, seeking a new environment, Duterte left her home of the Bay Area for Los Angeles. There, she demoed new songs, while also embracing opportunities to do session work and produce, engineer, and mix for other artists (like Sasami, Chastity Belt). Reckoning with the relative instability of musicianhood, Duterte turned inward, tuning ever deeper into her own emotions and desires as a way of staying centered through huge changes. She found a community; she fell in love. And for an artist whose career began after releasing her earliest collection of demos—2015's hazy but exquisitely crafted Turn Into—in a fit of drunken confidence on Thanksgiving night, she finally quit drinking for good. “I feel like a completely different person,” she reflects. Positivity was a way forward.

1 If You Want It (3:13)
2 Superbike (3:53)
3 Peace Out (4:17)
4 Devotion (3:32)
5 Nighttime Drive (3:13)
6 Tenderness (4:01)
7 Anak Ko (3:38)
8 Crown (4:38)
9 Get Well (3:57)