Passer aux informations produits
  • Jamila Woods - Heavn [Very Limited Clear with Purple Splatter Color Vinyl]  (4317051060288)
1 sur 1

Jamila Woods - Heavn [Very Limited Clear with Purple Splatter Color Vinyl]

Prix habituel
€28,95 EUR
Prix habituel
Prix soldé
€28,95 EUR

Jamila Woods la lignée culturelle - de son amour pour la poésie de Lucille Clifton aux lettres de sa grand-mère et au post-punk de la fin des années 80 de The Cure - a contribué à structurer l'âme progressive, délicate et minimaliste de HEAVN . Son premier album solo, CIEL a été initialement publié à l'été 2016 sur Closed Sessions et réédité par Jagjaguwar. "C'est comme un processus de collage", dit-elle. "C'est très agréable pour moi de prendre quelque chose que j'aime et de le transformer en quelque chose maintenant."

Chanteuse invitée fréquente dans le monde du hip-hop, du jazz et de la soul, Jamila est devenue une voix unique dans une génération lors de ses débuts émouvants. Né et élevé dans le Southside de Chicago, Woods a grandi dans une famille de mélomanes. C'est une artiste de fond qui crée de la musique sur une base solide de ses passions et de ses influences. Vous trouverez les morceaux de son passé et de son présent qui font de Jamila : la famille, la ville de Chicago, les soins personnels et les femmes noires qu'elle appelle ses amies. Vraie et pure dans sa construction et son exécution, sa musique est la meilleure représentation de Jamila elle-même : forte dans ses racines, confiante dans ses idées et à l'écoute des gens, des lieux et des choses qui façonnent son monde.

Sur la chanson titre de l'album, qui échantillonne "Just Like Heaven" de The Cure, Jamila explore comment l'histoire des Noirs influence leur capacité à s'aimer. "Holy" se connecte à la vie de Jamila qui a grandi à l'église, échantillonnant une chanson gospel et utilisant une structure de psaume pour parler de l'amour de soi. Ailleurs, Jamila joue avec les contrastes pour raconter une plus grande histoire. Sur "VRY BLK", elle utilise des jeux de mains de filles noires pour parler de la brutalité policière tandis que "BLK Girl Soldier", une chanson que Jamila décrit comme un partenaire de "VRY BLK", se concentre sur la solidarité.

  1. Bulles
  2. VRY BLK (feat. Noname)
  3. Popsicle (Interlude)
  4. Lonely Lonely (feat. Lornie Chia)
  5. CIEL
  6. Ève (Interlude)
  7. En mon nom
  8. Les Filles d'Assata (Interlude)
  9. Soldat Fille BLK
  10. LSD (feat. Chance The Rapper)
  11. Still (Interlude)
  12. Emerald Street (feat. Saba)
  13. Dernièrement
  14. Toujours aimer (Interlude)
  15. Breadcrumbs (feat. Nico Segal)
  16. Stellaire
  17. Bonjour (Interlude)
  18. Saint
  19. En haut
  20. Saint (Reprise)

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jamila Woods - Heavn [Very Limited Clear with Purple Splatter Color Vinyl]

Jamila Woods - Heavn [Very Limited Clear with Purple Splatter Color Vinyl]

Regular price $ 32.88 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 32.88 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Jamila Woods' cultural lineage - from her love of Lucille Clifton's poetry to letters from her grandmother and the late '80s post-punk of The Cure - helped structure the progressive, delicate and minimalist soul of HEAVN. Her debut solo album, HEAVN was originally released in the summer of 2016 on Closed Sessions and reissued by Jagjaguwar. "It's like a collage process," she says. "It's very enjoyable to me to take something I love and mold it into something now."

A frequent guest vocalist in the hip-hop, jazz and soul world, Jamila has emerged as a once-in-a-generation voice on her soul-stirring debut. Born and raised on the Southside of Chicago, Woods grew up in a family of music lovers. She is an artist of substance creating music crafted with a sturdy foundation of her passions and influences. You'll find the bits and pieces of her past and present that make Jamila: family, the city of Chicago, self-care, and the black women she calls friends. True and pure in its construction and execution, her music is the best representation of Jamila herself: strong in her roots, confident in her ideas, and attuned to the people, places, and things shaping her world.

On the album's title track, which samples the Cure's "Just Like Heaven," Jamila explores how black people's history influences their ability to love each other. "Holy" connects to Jamila's life growing up in church, sampling a gospel song and utilizing a psalm structure to talk about self-love. Elsewhere, Jamila plays with contrast to tell a bigger story. On "VRY BLK," she uses black girl hand clap games to talk about police brutality while "BLK Girl Soldier," a song Jamila describes as a partner to "VRY BLK," focuses on solidarity.

  1. Bubbles
  2. VRY BLK (feat. Noname)
  3. Popsicle (Interlude)
  4. Lonely Lonely (feat. Lornie Chia)
  5. HEAVN
  6. Eve (Interlude)
  7. In My Name
  8. Assata's Daughters (Interlude)
  9. BLK Girl Soldier
  10. LSD (feat. Chance The Rapper)
  11. Still (Interlude)
  12. Emerald Street (feat. Saba)
  13. Lately
  14. Always Loving (Interlude)
  15. Breadcrumbs (feat. Nico Segal)
  16. Stellar
  17. Good Morning (Interlude)
  18. Holy
  19. Way Up
  20. Holy (Reprise)

Shipping & Returns

Shipping
We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Returns
Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

One of the the best vinyl record albums by Jamila Woods - Heavn [Very Limited Clear with Purple Splatter Color Vinyl]

Voted Best Online Record Store 2022

View full details