Vinyl - Hiss Golden Messenger - Haw Vinyl Record

Hiss Golden Messenger - Haw Vinyl Record

  • $ 18.88
  • Save $ 3.11

Only 1 left!

Remastered By Chris Boerner At Kitchen Mastering

2013's Haw is an album of eleven songs about family, faith, and an ill-prophesied future, an artifact almost as archaic, lovely and seldom heard today as directional commands for beasts of burden. Haw proposes a manifestly mature sense of anxiety and acute but unspectacular workaday pain, mapping a spiritual inscape pricklier and more unknowable than the places explored on Poor Moon (2011). Sonically, the arrangements – by turns lush with strings and saxophones and as kitchen-table direct as Bad Debt (2010) – belie the compositions' Biblical claws with a longing for pastoral comfort, the ease of fellowship, and more minutes than they can contain. M.C. Taylor's writing and singing here achieve a tenebrous clarity, invoking – and occasionally challenging – a intermingling cast of prophetic characters both sacred and profane. Remastered by Chris Boerner at Kitchen Mastering. Artwork re-imagined by Sam Smith (Lateness of Dancers).

  1. Red Rose Nantahala
  2. Sufferer (Love My Conqueror)
  3. I've Got a Name for the Newborn Child
  4. Hat of Rain
  5. Devotion
  6. The Serpent Is Kind (Compared to Man)
  7. Sweet as John Hurt
  8. Cheerwine Easter
  9. Hark Maker (Glory Rag)
  10. Busted Note
  11. What Shall Be (Shall Be Enough)