Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ela Minus - Acts of Rebellion [Very Limited Edition Transparent Color Vinyl Record]

Ela Minus - Acts of Rebellion [Very Limited Edition Transparent Color Vinyl Record]

Regular price $ 37.88 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 37.88 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Performed, produced and recorded entirely by herself, Colombian musician Ela Minus' debut album Acts of Rebellion is a complex manifesto on simplicity, a call to fight, to live, to be present. It's a collection about the personal as political, and embracing the beauty of tiny acts of revolution in our everyday lives. This ethos is clear in the dreamy, pulsing single "El Cielo No Es De Nadie" - "an ode to little, constant, every day acts of love" sung in Ela's native Spanish.

Using only hardware to perform, write and record, Ela creates complex, technical electronic music that exudes a warm vibrancy, along with a darker, almost celebratory understanding that our breaths aren't infinite. Her sharp, coiled words are cathartic – due in part to her approach to writing them. "I always start writing by improvising alone," she says. "Once I have some instrumentals I'm happy with, I intuitively grab the mic and sing a phrase with a melody in it. I always keep that initial phrase."

On Acts of Rebellion, you sense the stories hidden in everyday things. You feel Ela's personality and viewpoint; you sense her presence. The cover features a photo of her, most of her face obscured, but her eyes sharply focused. On Acts of Rebellion, she's asking us to make contact not just with her, but also the people that inhabit our lives. She's suggesting we leave our gadgets behind in favor of flesh-and-blood communities. She's asking us to think, dance, and love, while she coaxes humanity from her hardware – machines that rattle and whirr alongside her and, in turn, make us feel more alive.

  1. N19 5NF
  2. They Told Us It Was Hard, But They Were Wrong.
  3. El Cielo No Es De Nadie
  4. Megapunk
  5. Pocket Piano
  6. Dominique
  7. Let Them Have the Internet
  8. Tony
  9. Do Whatever You Want, All The time.
  10. Close (ft. Helado Negro)

Shipping & Returns

We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to a Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

One of the the best vinyl record albums by Ela Minus - Acts of Rebellion [Very Limited Edition Transparent Color Vinyl Record]

Voted Best Online Record Store 2022

View full details