Skip to product information
  • BADBADNOTGOOD - Talk Memory {Limited 2LP White Color Vinyl Record]
1 of 1

BADBADNOTGOOD - Talk Memory [Limited 2LP White Color Vinyl Record]

Regular price
$ 29.88 USD
Regular price
$ 36.88 USD
Sale price
$ 29.88 USD

 Canadian ensemble BadBadNotGood made their name by crossing genre. This seamless movement between style hit hard when they took hip hop into jazz and vice versa. Their latest album – and first with XL recordings – demonstrates them going back to their instrumental beginnings. Instead of looking at the now, they reflected the history and innovation of those that influenced them.

A sense of reflection and renewed communication is at the heart of their current approach to making music, and the spark that led to the album's pensive title Talk Memory. Instead of recording and then developing the tracks on tour, the band decided to slow down and rethink their creative process.

The band demonstrates a sense of emotional and poetic progress, not just technique and virtuosity. They consider themselves constant students, always listening and striving for new directions. Those new paths range from moments of cinematic pacing to distorted improvisation. The album is a kind of aural odyssey, with all the sense of psychedelic narrative that entails. It is about drawing on the energy of collaboration as it happens. The band recorded their latest work in analog studios, as an intentional way to stay present and experience without drawing from the internet for research or references.

The project is deeply cross-generational, as BadBadNotGood brought attention to the lineage of artists that came before them and explored the privilege of being able to bring their experience and skill to their music. The album includes contributions from a breadth of multi-instrumentalists including Arthur Verocai, Laraaji, Terrace Martin, Brandee Younger, and Karriem Riggins, with the album mix coming from Russell Elevado.

  1. Signal from the Noise
  2. Unfolding (Momentum 73) - feat. Laraaji
  3. City of Mirrors - feat. Arthur Verocai
  4. Beside April feat. Arthur Verocai
  5. Love Proceeding feat. Arthur Verocai
  6. Timid, Intimidating
  7. Beside April (Reprise) feat. Arthur Verocai
  8. Talk Meaning feat. Terrace Martin, Brandee Younger & Arthur Verocai