Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Anna B Savage - A Common Turn Vinyl-Schallplatte

Anna B Savage - A Common Turn Vinyl-Schallplatte

Normaler Preis $ 16.88 USD
Normaler Preis $ 20.88 USD Verkaufspreis $ 16.88 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Londoner Singer-Songwriter Anna B Savage macht Fragezeichen-Musik, fesselnd und kraftvoll, navigiert durch verschiedene wiederkehrende Themen wie weibliche Sexualität, Selbstzweifel ... und Vögel. Ihre Lieder stellen oft die Gültigkeit ihrer eigenen Gedanken und Gefühle in Frage und sind voller unbeantworteter Fragen. Ist das überhaupt echt? Haben wir das, was ich denke, dass wir haben? Wie bin ich zu diesem Punkt gekommen? Hört jemand zu? Oder die Eröffnungs- und stärkste Frage der Platte: "Verstehe ich das?" Doch diese Fragen werden getragen von ihrer Fähigkeit, Melodien und Texte zu beschwören, die so verheerend offen, verletzlich und ehrlich sind, dass sie es irgendwie immer noch schaffen, bezaubernd charmant, absolut modern und oft lustig zu sein.

"Für mich sind 'gemeinsame Wendung' diese Momente der Entscheidung, in denen man denkt, 'Ich nehme das nicht mehr hin, sei es die Art und Weise, wie jemand anderes dich behandelt oder was du selbst behandelst", erklärt Savage.
In den fünf Jahren zwischen ihrer ersten Veröffentlichung und A Common Turn beendete Savage eine schlechte Beziehung, nahm Gelegenheitsjobs an, zog zweimal um die Welt, holte sich viel Therapie und baute sich schließlich von Grund auf neu auf. Das Album ist übersät mit persönlichen und kulturellen Referenzen (unter anderem Rocky Horror Picture Show , The Spice Girls, weibliches Vergnügen, psychische Gesundheit und ein Keramik-Eulenbecher der schottischen Alt-Rock-Legende Edwyn Collins), die alle jetzt eingenäht sind ihre Musik wie Talismane.

Savage hat sich gemeldet William Doyle (FKA East India Youth - 2014 Mercury Prize nominiert", nachdem er seinen Social-Media-Beitrag gesehen hatte, in dem Künstler gebeten wurden, ihn zu kontaktieren, wenn sie gemeinsam experimentieren wollten. Von ihrem ersten Treffen an lieferte William eine ehrgeizige und dennoch elegante Produktion für die Demos, die Anna ihm mitbrachte, und gaben schließlich der Platte, die sie irgendwann offiziell für unmöglich hielt, eine endgültige Form. Ihre Mischung aus Erde und Fleiß, aus menschlichem Gefühl und mechanisierter Dekonstruktion von Erwartungen und Barrieren. Als Paar konnten sie eine Platte machen das heißt, in Savages Worten, "über Lernen, Anpassung, Wachsen, Ernsthaftigkeit und wirklich verdammt hart zu versuchen."

Savages Musik ist zutiefst verletzlich, ohne unterwürfig zu sein. Das Thema könnte diese Songs belasten, aber stattdessen steigen sie, während sie ihre eigene Zerbrechlichkeit beansprucht. Das Album ist von einer berauschenden Katharsis durchzogen und die Geschichten, die sie erzählt, handeln davon, Raum einzunehmen, Verbindungen zu finden und die Macht zu besitzen, nicht alle Antworten zu kennen. Ihre Songs sind für jeden, der intensiv nachdenkt, tief fühlt und große Fragen stellt.

  1. Eine ständige Wärme
  2. Wachtelkönig
  3. Tote Verfolgungen
  4. BedStuy
  5. Baby Grand
  6. Zwei
  7. Eine Flussseeschwalbe
  8. Chelsea Hotel #3
  9. Hotel
  10. Eins

Shipping & Returns

Shipping
We ship within two business days when possible. Remember, Media Mail is cheap but gets very little love from the postal service. Expect long waits and few tracking updates. We recommend USPS Priority or UPS Ground.

Returns
Thirty days if unopened, you pay the postage to us. If the item is defective or the delivery person folded it, please reach out ASAP for us to fix the issue. After 30 days, you own it!

Care Instructions

Keep away from the sun.

Never place it next to Justin Bieber record.

Treat it like your grandma, you know if she was a record. Know what I mean? Tender care, don't talk back, and never interupt during Murder She Wrote. Wait - what the hell was I writing about-

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Anna B Savage - A Common Turn Vinyl Record
Indie Vinyl Den Shipping Deals

Anna B Savage - A Common Turn Vinyl Record

  • $ 18.88
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 3 left!

London singer-songwriter Anna B Savage makes question-mark-music, captivating and powerful, navigating various recurring themes including female sexuality, self-doubt ... and birds. Often questioning the validity of her own thoughts and feelings, her songs are heavy with unanswered queries. Is this even real? Do we have what I think we have? How did I get to this point? Is anyone listening? Or the record's opening and most potent question: "Do I understand this?" Yet these questions are buoyed by her ability to conjure melodies and lyrics so devastatingly candid, vulnerable and honest, that somehow still manage to be bewitchingly charming, utterly modern and often funny.

"For me, 'a common turn' is those moments of decision where you think ‘I'm not taking this anymore, whether it's the way someone else is treating you or the what you're treating yourself," Savage explains. 
In the five years between her first release and A Common Turn, Savage ended a bad relationship, took up odd jobs, moved across the world twice, got herself a lot of therapy and eventually built herself from the ground up again. The album is littered with personal and cultural references (Rocky Horror Picture Show, the Spice Girls, female pleasure, mental health, and a ceramic owl mug by Scottish alt-rock legend Edwyn Collins, among others), all of which are now sewn into her music like talismans.

Savage got in touch with William Doyle (FKA East India Youth - 2014 Mercury Prize nominee' having seen his social media post asking artists to contact him if they wanted to experiment together. From their first meeting, William provided ambitious yet elegant production to the demos Anna brought him, and ultimately gave a definitive shape to the record she had at one point deemed officially impossible to finish. Theirs is a blending of earth and industry, of human feeling and mechanized deconstruction of expectations and barriers. As a pair, they were able to make a record that is, in Savage's words, "about learning, adapting, growing, being earnest and trying really fucking hard."

Savage's music is deeply vulnerable, without being submissive. The subject matter could weigh these songs down, but instead they soar as she lays claim to her own fragility. There's an intoxicating catharsis woven through the album and the stories she tells are of taking up space, finding connections, and owning the power in not knowing all the answers. Hers are songs for anyone who thinks hard, feels deeply, and asks big questions.

  1. A Steady Warmth
  2. Corncrakes
  3. Dead Pursuits
  4. BedStuy
  5. Baby Grand
  6. Two
  7. A Common Tern
  8. Chelsea Hotel #3
  9. Hotel
  10. One