Sufjan Stevens - Songs For Christmas

Sufjan Stevens - Songs For Christmas

  • $ 73.88
  • Save $ 6.11

Release Date 11/9/2018 ^^^^Read Notice Above ^^^^

In December 2001, Sufjan Stevens set out to create a Christmas gift for his friends and family. The result was a 7-song recording that he called, Noel, Vol. 1. Over each of the next few Christmas seasons Sufjan would create a new EP to add to the collection. As he was recording Peace : Volume V (in the summer of 2006), he considered how best to ‘officially’ release this music. He said he was, “determined to present the EPs in their original form – flaws, blemishes, mistakes and all. A compilation would have been a cumbersome compromise. A “Greatest Hits” would have been heartbreaking (How to choose?).” In addition to the music he wanted to add a ‘lavish display of ornamentation’ to coincide with the spirit of excess and overindulgence that is the hallmark of Christmas. Enclosed in the box you will find essays, a short story, song chords & lyrics, photos, stickers, a family portrait, and wishes for a Happy Christmas.

Disc 1

1 Silent Night
2 O Come O Come Emmanuel
3 We’re Goin’ To the Country!
4 Lo! How A Rose E’er Blooming
5 It’s Christmas! Let’s Be Glad!
6 Holy Holy, etc.
7 Amazing Grace

Disc 2

1 Angels We Have Heard on High
2 Put the Lights On the Tree
3 Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
4 I Saw Three Ships
5 Only at Christmas Time
6 Once in Royal David’s City
7 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing!
8 What Child Is This Anyway?
9 Bring A Torch, Jeanette, Isabella

Disc 3

1 O Come O Come Emmanuel
2 Come on! Let’s Boogey to the Elf Dance!
3 We Three Kings
4 O Holy Night
5 That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!
6 Ding! Dong!
7 All the King’s Horns
8 The Friendly Beasts

Disc 4

1 The Little Drummer Boy
2 Away In A Manger
3 Hey Guys! It’s Christmas Time!
4 The First Noel
5 Did I Make You Cry On Christmas Day? (Well, You Deserved It!)
6 Incarnation
7 Joy To The World

Disc 5

1 Once in Royal David’s City
2 Get Behind Me, Santa!
3 Jingle Bells
4 Christmas in July
5 Lo! How A Rose E’er Blooming
6 Jupiter Winter
7 Sister Winter
8 O Come O Come Emmanuel
9 Star of Wonder
10 Holy, Holy, Holy
11 The Winter Solstice