Calexico - The Black Light: 20th Anniversary Edition (180g Vinyl 2LP) [Clear Color Vinyl]

Calexico - The Black Light: 20th Anniversary Edition (180g Vinyl 2LP) [Clear Color Vinyl]

  • $ 39.99

Only 1 left!

An album about crossing physical and metaphorical borders that has never been timelier: Calexico's classic album The Black Light turned 20 in 2018! This celebratory anniversary edition includes all new artwork by Victor Gastelum, extensive liner notes, and 11 bonus tracks. What was surprising about The Black Light (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album's unusual willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with "Gypsy's Curse," the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, almost an hour later, it's contrived a skillful and instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in "Frontera." If Calexico falls short as a name, it's only in the fact that ‐ along‐side their mining of Mexico's fertile musical past ‐ Joey Burns and John Convertino weren't just digging into California's songbook...they were unearthing America's too.


  1. Gypsy's Curse
  2. Fake Fur
  3. The Ride - pt II
  4. Where Water Flows
  5. The Black Light
  6. Sideshow
  7. Chach
  8. Missing
  9. Minas de Cobre - For Better Metal
  10. Over Your Shoulder
  11. Vinegaroon
  12. Trigger
  13. Sprawl
  14. Stray
  15. Old Man Waltz
  16. Bloodflow
  17. Frontera


  1. El Morro
  2. Man Goes Where Water Flows
  3. Glowing Heart Of The World
  4. Too Much Sprawl
  5. Rollbar
  6. Minas De Cobre (Extend-O-Mix)
  7. Minas De Cobre (Spatial Mix)
  8. Minas De Cobre (Acoustic Mix)
  9. Lacquer
  10. Drape
  11. Bag of Death